Welcome to SPACE, our adult continuing education program which offers interactive monthly courses for personal enrichment! Learn more here.

Margaret Atwood's self-described style of speculative fiction illustrates potential futures that could await our planet, rooted firmly in observations of the present and past. Her MaddAddam Trilogy, which began with Oryx and Crake in 2003, explores one such future. Contrasted with the patriarchal dystopian vision of the well-known Handmaid's Tale, MaddAddam presents a world born out of one brilliant bioengineer's dream of utopia-- and what that dream means for everyone else. Starting with Book 1: Oryx and Crake, we will discuss the themes and visions associated with this biological apocalypse.

Required Texts

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood (2003)
Check out Current and Upcoming offerings from:


None (yet!)

If you're interested in this course...

If you have any questions about the SPACE program, please reach out to [email protected].